



to: his excellency Charles Michel, President of the Council of the European Union

Brussels, 10 March 2020

Re: Democratic deficit in the European Parliament and the necessary revision of the European Electoral Act

Your Excellency,

The European Union is a beacon for democracy, freedom and the rule of law. These values have made Europe objectively one of the best places for its citizens to live and to thrive. Membership of the EU has served to inspire Member States to foster these values to the fullest. In the process, the European community has evolved into a political entity with democratic institutions to safeguard and promote the values we cherish, namely through our directly elected European Parliament, which in turn elects the European Commission. Furthermore, democratically elected governments back the members of your Council. There still are however, flaws in the democratic fabric of our ever-evolving Union. Today we urge you and your Council to address one of these flaws.

A European Union that values equality between the citizens that make up our society should have institutions that reflects those values. Currently the Act concerning the election of the members of the European Parliament by direct universal suffrage is limiting citizens' representation in the European Parliament, where their Members exercise their right to maternity, paternity or parental leave during the latter stages of pregnancy or following the birth of a child. Not only are such limitations creating a democratic deficit for some European citizens but they further undermine the core European tenet of gender equality, with the majority of Members affected being pregnant and post-natal women. Your Council should rectify this wrong. In the year 2020 our European Electoral Act should provide for the possibility of temporary replacement of a Member of the European Parliament that is availing of their right to maternity, paternity or parental leave. Attempts to this end have been made before, but all in vain. We call on you to change this pattern under your presidency. We believe it is time.

In due time we will debate our policy proposal and come to a position as a Parliament. We will do this as we always do: through an open debate, in a transparent manner. Through this letter we offer you the chance to join our tradition of transparency and openly commit to the cause we have laid out in this letter. We respectfully ask that you, as President of the Council of the European Union, are willing to commit to a revision of the abovementioned Act, so that Members of the European Parliament can become mothers and fathers, knowing their seat will not be vacated without a replacement in the process. Furthermore, we ask you to work to make this the new standard for all the national parliaments that support your Council. No citizen should be without representation, just because their representative is giving birth to the next generation of Europeans.

Yours sincerely.

Samira Rafaela Irène Tolleret Karen Melchior

Linea Søgaard-Lidell Katalin Cseh

Abir Al Sahlani Susana Solís Pérez Esther de Lange

Michal Šimečka

Sophie in 't Veld

Billy Kelleher

Izaskun Bilbao Barandica

Barry Andrews

Svenja Hahn

Rasmus Andresen

Margarida Marques

María Soraya Rodríguez Ramos

Nils Torvalds

Lara Wolters

Milan Brglez

Karin Karlsbro

Olivier Chastel

Pernille Weiss

Isabel Carvalhais

Paul Tang

Maite Pagazaurtundúa

Atidzhe Alieva-Veli

Nathalie Loiseau

István Ujhelyi

Mohammed Chahim

Marianne Vind

Martin Hojsík

Christel Schaldemose

Katrin Langensiepen

Engin Eroglu

Marie Toussaint

Anja Hazekamp

Frédérique Ries

Vera Tax

Terry Reintke

Jan-Christoph Oetjen

Maria Noichl

Agnes Jongerius

Cláudia Monteiro de Aguiar

Claudia Gamon

Manon Aubry

Anne Sophie Pelletier

Manuel Bompard

Maria Marques

Aurore Lalucq

Idoia Villanueva

Dorien Rookmaker

Malik Azmani

Bart Groothuis

Jan Huitema

Caroline Nagtegaal

Liesje Schreinemacher

Cindy Franssen

Kim van Sparrentak

Tom Berendsen

Monica Semedo

Dragoș Pislaru

Pina Picierno

Bas Eickhout

José Gusmão

Leïla Chaibi

Anna Donath

Miriam Dalli

Philippe Lamberts

Hilde Vautmans

Ilana Cicurel

Peter Lundgren

Damian Boeselager

Johan Danielsson

Leopoldo López Gil

Frances Fitzgerald

Rosa Estaras Ferragut

Chrysoula Zacharopoulou

Derk-Jan Eppink

Alice Kuhnke

Morten Løkkegaard

Søren Gade

Asger Christensen

Viktor Uspaskich

Ulrike Mueller

Tineke Strik

Andrus Ansip

Alexis Georgoulis

Dace Melbarde

Klára Dobrev

Pedro Silva Pereira

Grace O'Sullivan

Miapetra Kumpula-Natri

Evin Incir

Heléne Fritzon

Adrián Vázquez Lázara

Traian Băsescu

Marie-Pierre Vedrenne

Stéphane Bijoux

Sec.